Club wins for seniors in final home game


It was an eventful weekend for the Saginaw Valley club hockey team.

The Cardinals traveled to Ann Arbor on Friday, Jan. 29, defeating the University of Michigan club hockey team 5-4.

On Saturday, Jan. 30, SVSU came home to host the Wolverines, winning the contest 8-2. But first, the team partook in a few of community engagement opportunities.

The Cards volunteered at the Salvation Army in Bay City before hosting an event at Hoyt Park in Saginaw as a part of the “Bring Back the Ice Again” series, which is meant to promote skating at Hoyt Park.

“We have done it for the last two years,” said forward Tyler Myers. “It’s a lot of fun and a good way for us to give back a little. In the past we have played games with the kids, like letting them shoot on our goalies and things like that, but also we have helped the kids learn to skate. The kids always enjoy it, and so do we. So it’s a fun event all around.”

The public skate allowed the players to enjoy the afternoon before hosting U of M at Death Valley. SVSU honored its five seniors before the game and then honored them during the contest with its play.

SVSU’s Cody Crockford scored the first goal. A few minutes later, goal number two was scored by Steven Roberts.

U of M quickly got into trouble, and SVSU scored a power play goal by Josh Budlong. The second period began with U of M scoring its first goal of the night within the first minute of play. SVSU was not going to roll over, though, and scored its fourth goal a few minutes later when Bremer found the back of the net.

The third period continued SVSU’s goal streak, as Roberts scored the Cardinals’ fifth of the night. U of M added one more goal a few minutes later, but that would be all from them for the night.

SVSU would tack on three more goals to wrap up the contest.

SVSU will play Northwood at the Midland Ice Arena on Saturday, Feb. 6.

SVSU must win the game, scheduled for 8 p.m., to extend its season.

SVSU is ranked No. 14 in the Division III North Region of the American Collegiate Hockey Association.

The top 10 teams are selected for the playoffs.